There are many factors, including what the state of Texas calls guidelines, that impact child support determinations. To learn more about the specifics surrounding Texas child support laws and guidelines, we have created a child support guideline for you to reference.

How Long Does Child Support Last?

In Texas, the court can order either or both parents to support a child until the child turns 18 or graduates from high school, the child gets married, the child is no longer disabled, or the child dies. If a child is disabled either physically or mentally, then the child may receive child support indefinitely.

How Is Child Support Calculated In Texas?

The court will apply child support guidelines to set a minimum amount of child support. These guidelines are based on the best interests of the child. The guidelines are applied based on the supporting spouse’s net monthly income.

If the supporting spouse’s net monthly income is less than $7,500, then the court refers to the number of children to determine child support. The following guidelines are as follows:

  • 1 child – 20% of net monthly income
  • 2 children – 25% of net monthly income
  • 3 children – 30% of net monthly income
  • 4 children – 35% of net monthly income
  • 5 children – 40% of net monthly income
  • 6 children – no less than 40% of net monthly income

If the supporting spouse’s net monthly income is over $7,500, then the court will apply the same calculations above to the first $7,500. If the spouse seeking support can prove that their child needs additional support, the court could order the other spouse to pay more child support. Additional support could be needed for special education tuition, additional medical costs, tutors, extracurricular activities, and other expenses.

Is There A Limit On The Amount Of Child Support That Can Be Awarded?

There is a limit on the amount of child support a parent can receive. The court limits the amount according to the child’s needs. If it is proven that the child only needs $500 over the minimum amount, the court can only order the supporting spouse to pay this much.

Will The Court Ever Deviate From The Child Support Guidelines?

The court can deviate from the guidelines if it feels they are unjust and do not protect the best interests of the child. To do so, the court will consider the age and needs of the child, the parent’s ability to support the child, financial resources available to the child, healthcare, special education expenses, and other factors.

How Can You Change A Child Support Order?

To modify a child support payment, you must show that there has been a significant change in circumstances since the last order was entered. This might be one of the following events:

  • Loss of job
  • Relocation
  • Change in custody agreement

Contact our office online or call us at (737) 265-7656 to discuss your child support matter.

Contact us for
free case evaluation

    Related Posts

    Join Thousands Of Happy Clients